Skip McKinney Faculty Award


The Skip McKinney Award was created by the Robert H. McKinney Family Endowment, a fund of Central Indiana Community Foundation, to honor the legacy of Arlene "Skip" McKinney, long-time Art Center student, accomplished artist, and community leader. "Our mother found her voice in the classrooms of the Indianapolis Art Center," says Lisa McKinney, daughter of Arlene. "In establishing the Skip McKinney Faculty Award, it was our hope to recognize the Art Center faculty for their dedication to their craft and to building community."


The $20,000 fellowship is one of the largest in the country given to an individual artist. The fellowship is given to an Art Center faculty member who exhibits excellence in his/her art, excellence in teaching, and focuses on building community through art. In addition to the monetary award, the recipient also receives a solo exhibition at the Indianapolis Art Center featuring the art they create throughout the coming year. The next Skip McKinney Faculty Award Winner's exhibition will open on October 9, 2020 and feature Elise Howell, 2D Program Manager.



Skip McKinney Faculty Award Winners:


Elise Howell - 2020

Dan Fifer - 2019

Debbie Kirby - 2018

Ben Johnson - 2017

Kimberly Conrad - 2016

Tim Compton - 2015

Vandra Pentecost - 2014

Matthew Kenyon - 2013

Sofiya Inger - 2012




Additional Media:

Dan Fifer Awarded Skip McKinney Prize. Nuvo, 2018

Winner of Skip McKinney Faculty Award Announced (Debbie Kirby). Nuvo, 2017

Five Questions with Debbie Kirby. Indianapolis Art Center Blog, 2017

IAC Announces Skip McKnney Faculty of the Year (Ben Johnson). Nuvo, 2016


For more information about the Skip McKinney Award please contact Colton Pedro at [email protected].